The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources claims that implementing electronic monitoring systems on all company computers will prevent employees from wasting time and increase overall profit. This argument lies on a foundation of unstated assumptions which if unwarranted could lead to an even worse work ethic at Climpson.

The first major assumption is the fact that the cause for employees wasting time and the loss of overall profit margins, is because of employees abusing their computer privileges with personal activities. If the amount of time wasted by employees does not occur while using the computer, rather by water cooler chat or by making private phone calls, implementing an electronic monitoring system would have very little effect on fostering a better work ethic.

If the statement were true that employees were wasting their time on the computer, there lies an underlying assumption that these activities are being done on their company work computer rather than a personal computer. In this case any software installed onto the company work computers would not stop the employee from wasting time.

Implementing an electronic monitoring system under these assumptions may prove to be extremely damaging to Climpson office atmosphere. Employees that do not waste copious amounts of time surfing the internet may feel that their privacy is being infringed upon may feel spied upon. Working under these types of circumstances may itself reduce the amount of overall time spent working and the effort put into their work.

Before implementing such a draconian measure by installing electronic monitoring system on all company computers, it is necessary to collect data on how employees use working hours to conduct private affairs. Whether it occurs through computers use or by other means.