The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In recommendation send from vice president of human resource at climpson, it is stated that human resource concluded to install the software to detect the uses of internet to prevent employees from diverting their mind from their work to improve their performance and productivity which results in overall profit for company climpson. this conclusion is based on the issues that the employees are keen to use internet all the time in working hours and internet uses is hampering employees's performance at a higher level due to this the company's progress is diminishing. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, below questions must be answered.

First of all, does all employees are using internet for recreational purpose? In other words, aren't employees using internet for office work? Perhaps, it is possible that the employees are using internet sites for work related purpose (i.e to get valuable information which will help them to increase the knowledge and progress further). it is possible that not all employees are using recreational sites during working hours. They might be using during breaks or after the office hours. The employees might be aware of their responsibility and following it. if either of these scenario has merit, then author's original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is the employee's performance is the only reason for company's progress? Perhaps, the possibility of the reasons like lack of knowledge and outdated technology etc are also the primary reasons for company's loss. Moreover, it is possible that the competitor company might be using the advanced technology with proper training to their employees which can be also the reason for company climpson's loss. if above is true, then the authors, argument does not hold water.

In addition to this, the author assumes that the employees in climpson is not progressing as expected. The author fails to understand that the restriction is not the solution for this issue. In order to improve performance, the company need to take the stand to encourage and motivate to employees for their responsilibilty. The author ignores the possibility that, the employees can use their mobile phones for recreational activities. In this case, the company can not measure the time spend on internet for personal activities like online banking, shopping, social networking sites. if the author assumes that internet is the only reason for hampering employee's productivity then the author's argument, installing devices to detect internet sites does not make sense.

In conclusion, the argument as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwanted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the questions above and offers more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the visibility the proposed recommendation. Without additional information, there isn't much reason to accept the conclusion to install the internet detection software to increase employee's progress in company.