We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening th

The Board of director of Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, recommended to discontinue the children’s book section and open the café to attract new customer and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café. They reached to this conclusion based on the recent national censes that indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. However, in order to evaluate the recommendation, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, how many people likely to visit in café? How many students under age ten will discontinue to visit? These questions should be answered to evaluate the recommendation. If number of students who discontinued to visit monarch’s book store is more than number of new attracted customer, then it will have negative impact on the Monarch’s Book store. So, these question must be answered to evaluate the recommendation.

Secondly, is there will be any negative effect on the existing customer due to opening of café in Monarch’s Book store? Suppose if the existing customer come to the monarch book store because it is peaceful and calm place, then it might reduce the footfall of customer after opening of café, which might make monarch café more noisy. Therefore this question also need to be answered to evaluate the recommendation. If café does not create noise, then cafe might be beneficial for the book store. Otherwise, it will have adverse effect on the business.

Thirdly, Is the Regal book store and Monarch book store are comparable? Is Regal Book store has large customer base as Monarch? Is Regal Book store has wide variety of books on all subject? If the answers to these questions is no, then there will be no need to compete with Regal book store. Further, is location and business capturing area of the Regional book store is common? All these questions need to be answer to evaluate.

In conclusion, the recommendation is likely to have the predictable result, If the board of directors or Monarch book store have answer to above mentioned questions.