Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas wher

Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, claimed that the new store in Plainsville is going to be successful. Nature's Way came to this conclusion based on merchant's claim of all-time high sales of running shoes and exercise clothing as well as an increase in membership at a local health club, weight training program, and aerobics classes. Along with above, school children are required to participate in a fitness-for- life-program. However, in order to evaluate the argument, the following three assumptions must be examined.

Firstly, the argument states that "Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs".However, it might be the case that fashion trends and sales on exercise clothes have increased the sales of these products. Further, even if the sales of these products are high, then also it doesnot indicate the increase in demand for health food and other health-related products. If above mention point is true, it will have serious implication on the argument.

Secondly, the argument also stated that the health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. However, there is a possibility that people have joined the local health club, weight training, and aerobic classes to overcome laziness and tiredness that resulted from bad eating habits. If the above assumption is correct, then it will have a negative impact on the argument.

Lastly, nature's way believed that fitness-for- life program, which emphasizes the benefit of regular exercise at an early stage, will boost the sales of health and other products. But, It does not make sure that student enrolls in a fitness-for- life program is bound to eat healthy food. Perhaps it might be possible that the eating habits of the students forced students to join the fitness-for-life program. If the above assumption is correct, then it will have negative consequences on the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If Nature's way is able to explain the unstated assumptions, then it will be possible to evaluate the success probability of the proposed franchise in the town.