We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening th

The author of the argument advocates for opening a cafe in Monarch bookstore. The author has provided various reasonings to support his argument, opening a cafe would be attract more customer and to develop its competency against Regal Book which has recently opened it’s own cafe. Further, the author has also suggested a plan on whereabouts of the cafe. Though on cursory look author’s argument may seem convincing but on deeper inspection the argument's reasoning is rife with flaws and loopholes.

First, the author assumes that because of the cafe the customer at Monarch Books would increase. But it might not be case as the Monarch Books have a reputation for its wide range of books on different subjects not for its cafe. Agreed that cafe would make cozy environment for the book reader but it would necessarily mean because of the cafe more customer will come. Moreover the regular customer might feel sidelined who preferred the Monarch Books for its simplicity and peacefulness and not for the bristling noises of the cafe. Therefore, the author should make sure that this new plan would not hinder the existing customers.

Furthermore, the plan to remove children’s book section for the cafe might result in decrease of customers. The author has cited national census indicating a decline in percentage of population under ten. Here has the author has misinterpreted the data. Though there might be decline in percentage of children but as the population increases the number of children might also increase. And increase in number of children under ten would mean more customers rather than the less customer as the author perceives. Thus the author should look for absolute value of predicted population rather than percentages.

Finally, the author assumes that by opening the cafe it would better complete with Regal Books. The author has failed to consider other ways to popularize the bookstore. For example by widening the book selection or by offering some offers would have better results than opening the cafe. Thus the author must consider other ways to attract more customer.

In conclusion, the unwarranted assumptions and misinterpreting the data has left the author’s argument weakened.