To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

There are many characteristics attributed to a society that can analyzed to study its socio-economic conditions of it like culture, gross domestic product etc. But in the context of the topic, culture will be focus of this essay. A common perception might be that as major cities has highest concentration of people thus they are the right place for studying the culture of a society. But this perception is very presumptuous because assuming the entire population to be homogeneous.

First, major cities are vortex which draws people from all the country and different cultures. For example London needless to say it is one of the major financial hubs in the world. If one takes a stroll in the streets of the London, one can encounter people of different ethnicities. The proper British culture is not vivid but fusion of multiple cultures is in the city. Whereas the proper British culture can experienced in the countryside of the country. Thus generally major cities are not right place to study major characteristics of a society because of its diversity.

Furthermore, people who disagree would present the example of Seoul, South Korea. South Korea is very homogeneous country and large concentration in its capital Seoul doesn’t have a lot of diversity therefore making it right place to study Korean culture. But this homogeneity comes from the government that discourages long term stays and is very reluctant in providing citizenship to other nationals. And moreover this kind of countries are few in number and can’t be generalized for other major countries.

Finally, from above discussion on why the major cities like london because of diversity are not the correct representative of a society and an exception to this generalization, it can be correctly stated because of major cities being a hub of different cultures are not right representative of a society.