West Egg’s landfill

In this argument, the chairperson concludes that the available space in West Egg’s landfill won’t be filled within 3 years, instead should last for significantly longer than previous predicted. To justify this conclusion, the chairperson reasons that residents are recycling more materials than before in the past two years and this trend will last further because the charges for garbage pickup will double, and what’t more, in a recent survey, almost all of the respondents assert that they would do more recycling. It seems convincing at first glance. However, with some implicit holes that the chairperson ignores and lacks of specific evidences which ought to be presented in the memorandum, this argument may not be enough strong to lead to the previous conclusion.

First, the chairperson only provide the evidence regarding the amount of recycled material, and failed to present the information of non-recycled garbage. It cannot be assured that the amount of non-recycled material have the inverse relationship with that can be recycled. Perhaps the total amount of garbage are considerably increasing too. Although it is true that, residents have been recycling twice as much as before, it is more likely that the amount of non-recycled garbage are still increasing rapidly, which certainly can make the landfill be filled quickly than before. So if it is the case, without more decisive information regarding the amount of non-recycled material, this argument might be weakened.

Second, the chairperson failed to make an assumption that the increasing charges of garbage pickup can lead to more recycling behavior. As we all know, the amount of garbage produced every week in our life is almost inflexible. People won’t buy less food or things just because the garbage fees are double. Perhaps people will ignore the double charges since they are so puny among the outcome of daily life. Or perhaps people have been recycling best, they just cannot do better. Therefore, this evidence is based on a unwarranted assumption, which cannot convince me.

Finally, the chairperson cites a survey result which shows that almost all respondents are asserting that they will do more recycling in the future. Although it’s encouraged, this survey may be not as reliable as is in chairperson’s assumption. He or she ought to provide more evidence concerning whether the survey is statistically significant in numbers of respondents and representative of the overall residents in West Egg. Even though it is a reliable survey, these respondents are more likely to show their attitude toward recycling material, rather than a promise, since everyone knows the benefit of recycling garbage. So, the chairperson reasons these <span style="font-size: 19.36px;">unwarranted </span>evidences and they cannot potently prove previous conclusion.

To sum up, as I pointed before, the conclusion is based on certain unreliable reasons and lacks of more decisive evidences. To bolster this argument, the chairperson should make clear the comprehensive amount of various garbage and more warranted research on the residents’ behavior on recycling garbage.