The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

More and more people pursue higher well-being by questioning and challenging authority, in order to making sure their rights are granted and their voices can be heard. Some proponents praise these brave behaviors and devote into it avidly. Usually their needs will be satisfied, but sometimes will not. Actually, I fundamentally agree with their believes that well-being in our society will be relatively improved while people are actively participate in formulating social policies and welfare systems. However, there are some risks which will happen when we inopportunely and unsuitably question the government.

First, “well-being” is a term which involves a huge scale of factors in our society, such as the living standard, health condition, income status, happiness and so on. As the primary group who are measured with these factors, people are sufficiently aware of the influence brought by certain policies. Therefore, when they are confused by some implicit policies, they should be given enough rights to ask questions to government, and thus responded with satisfied answers from the policy makers. The election systems in many democratic countries, such as the United States, are reasonable to make sure the well-being of their people are granted by government. People agree with certain policies by voting for their makers as the leader of states or cities. To a certain extent, people improve well-being in the society by make suggestions or give opinions in the process of drawing a polity.

However, previous condition might be a simple one in reality. Actually, each factor of well-being is tightly correlated with others and even interdependent on other factors. Public might usually get confused when they hear that a seemly unreasonable decision would be made. Sometime they are enough calm to investigate whether it is the best plan, which means it is still in the right way. However, with the development of internet, public are passively received a huge quantity of information provided by the emerging mass media. The opinions of public are easily distorted and even misled. Recently in China, there is a famous legal case in which the criminal ought to be sentenced for several years. However, the followers of this case are irritated by the criminal’s irreverent attitude. So they insanely condemn the sentence of the local court on the website and received numerous supports on the internet. They constantly published the pitiful sight of victims for public’s sympathy, and rebuked the criminal’s impersonality, then applied pressure on the local court to change to a more severe sentence. Everyone were involved in eventually, ending up with the compromise of local court — the criminal was sentenced for longer years. But with the subsiding of the public’s fervor, someone started to point out that the angry people are impeding the judicial justice, leading to an unfair environment in society. This is a case that people question authority but cannot bring out any benefits, instead, it destroy the human rights and absolutely threaten the well-being of a society.

It seems complicated for the mass public to distinguish the appropriate way to question authority. However, this is a question that had confused us for hundreds of years. While time is improving, despite the impulse of technology, people are stepping forward too. We should always believe that the same weapon that can make us live better and protect us when we are feeling threatened is to challenge authority and defend ourselves. But the same important is to take good care of the rights in hands, even a restraint is a good way to safeguard our lives and thus make us live better.