Tria Island’s tourism bureau

In this argument, the author of this letter concludes that Tria Island’s tourism bureau should charge money for the using of beaches, to raise money for replenishing the sand. Therefore, this can protect the condition of beaches and the buildings along the shores and finally benefit the total tourist industry in a long term. It seems persuasive at the first glance. However, with some implicit holes and lacks of specific evidences, this argument may not be strong enough to lead to the previous conclusion.

First, the author failed to provide the total amount of people who are using the beach now, and only assumes that the money charged from these people is enough to buy sand to replenish the beaches. This evidence is essential, since if the number of tourists is far less than the author’s assumption, government would not raise enough money. So, if the author still can’t calculate the exact number of the average number of tourists and the amount of money they can raise, this argument may be considerably weakened.

Second, the author rarely provide evidence concerning whether the number of tourists will decline after they are charged while using the beaches. Since this regulation has a potential risk, that it might significantly reduce the existing tourists number on the beach, leading to less money from tourists than before. And also these tourists may be annoyed and never come back again. If this is the case, this conclusion not only means that the government cannot get enough money, but also bring a bad effect on the long-term development of the local tourism. So, this reason cannot convince me either.

Finally, the author assumes that replenishing the sand will be helpful to protect the buildings near the beaches, since a nearby island of Batia had done the same thing before to protect buildings. But there is a lack of decisive evidence that whether the Batia’s protection program has proved to be successful. Perhaps the building condition isn’t better than before. Even if the the building condition in Batia is better now, how could the author assumes that this is all attributed to the replenishing of sand? Maybe replenishing the beaches cannot be benefit to the protection of these buildings. If the author cannot provide more evidence to answer this questions clearly, this argument cannot be strengthened.

To sum up, as I pointed out before, this conclusion is based on certain doubtful assumptions and lacks of several specific evidences. To bolster the argument, the author ought to provide more evidence regarding the existing number of tourists and the trends of variation, as well as more decisive evidences which can prove the success of Batia Island’s protection project.