When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used the public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that if Stanley Park wants to be well-known and popular like the Carlton Park, it should provide more facilities in the park and build unused areas for socializing. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored questions should be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that cameras in the parking of Stanley Park recorded 50 cars in the lots but more than 150 cars in the Carlton parks in the weekdays. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether the number of cars parked in the parking lots can approve the popularity of the park. One point that should be considered is that the location of the two parks are totally different and Carlton is at the center of the city. So, it is more accessible than Stanley. In fact, maybe Stanley has different facilities but because of the distance, people prefer to use Carlton. It is also important to say that the author does not mention anything about weekends. Perhaps the Stanley is overcrowded during weekends, who knows?

The author also asserts that the Carlton provide many seating in the park than Stanley. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question whether people go to the popular Carlton Park because of ample seating. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that although more benches provide seating for elderly, maybe Stanley park provides different recreational activities and people prefer to enjoy from these activities than seating inactively. Indeed, there is a possibility that Stanley provides a wide variety of activities, which are expensive and not affordable for individuals. Maybe by the reduction of tickets' price more people attract again to the park.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author Stanley should provide unused areas for socializing. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if building unused areas can appeal people to the park. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the vast majority of people prefer socializing in different places like a café or restaurants. So, building such a place in the park might not be a wise decision because there is no guarantee people use this place for socializing.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.