Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The conclusion drawn by the author that Palean baskets wer not uniquely Palean is weak and lacks substantial proof. A few arguments have been put forward by the author but there are several unwarrented assumptions and ambiguities in his reasoning. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument suspect. Unless they are addressed, the entire argument falls apart.

The author has made the assumption that as the Brim river was very deep, boats were the only means of crossing the river. There could have very well been other modes of transport via land or the Palean’s could have had the capability of building rope and wooden bridges. The author fails to address the existance of such possibilities which weakens his assumption.

Even if boats were the only possible means of transport, the fact that archeologists have not uncovered evidence of boats until now, does not mean that the Paleans did not use boats. Often, new pieces of evidence are discovered in archeology that challenge previous beliefs. Unless there is sound proof that no other means of transport existed and that the Paleans definitely did not use boats, the author’s assumption is faulty.

Another assumption that the author fails to justify is that the Brim river has always been deep and broad. The topography and landscape of a region constantly undergoes change. The Brim river could have possible been narrow and shallow or even non-existant during the time of the Paleans. The author must validate his assumptions about the depth and width of the river by studying the geological history of the region before he can make any assumptions regarding the characteristics of the river.

The author also fails to consider the possiblilty of trade between villages in the surrounding areas. There are chances that Lithos and Palea must have been trading with one another and these unique baskets may have been exchanged while exchanging goods. The fact that a single basket has been discovered in Lithos does not say anything about the origins of the basket. The basket could have been made in Palea or Lithos. Even if many such baskets are uncovered in other neighbouring villages, there are chances that all of them originated in Palea. Further research is needed before conclusions can be drawn regarding the origins of the unique design of the baskets.

In conclusion, the author’s statement contains several assumptions that seriously undermine it’s validity. Unless they are backed by substantial proof, the entire argument falls apart.