Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument claims that Palean woven bags are not unique to Palea as it was once believed since they are also found at Lithos where there is no possible communcation due to the river in between them. The claim by itself is highly unpersuasive and the presented evidence on lack of boat ruins is not adequate the derive such a huge conclusion. To understand the real origins of the Palean woven bags further examination of evidence is compulsory.

First of all, the author of the claim overlooks the fact that historical truths are highly susceptible to change under the light of new findings and discoveries. In the case of Palea, currently not having any trace of boats does not absolutely mean that Paleans never had boats. There is still the possibility of finding additional evidence. Also, we don’t know how eagerly the historical site, especially river area was searched. Maybe there is still an on going work on the site. Along with the extend of the workings we need evidence on the methodology used and the adequacy of the devices. For example, if Palean people were using wood as material for their boats, this boats might as well be rotten and that might be the reason they remain undiscovered. If archeologist were to find boats ruins, the statement claiming Palean bags are unique to Palea remains probable.

Even with the existing knowledge on Palean boats, the authors direct conclusion is not sound due to lack of evidence on Lithos boats. Lithos people might be travelling along the river to engage in trading activities with Palean people where they first got introduced to the distinctive woven bag pattern of Palea. The transportation of the palean bags to the neighboring communities might be a consequence of a trade or Lithos people might be inspired by the patern and later applied them to their own design.

Finally the author never mentioned when did the river ,the assumed geographical impediment between Lithos and Palea, had arised. Maybe the river occured years later the Palean people left the area following a natural event such as an earthquake. Without decent geographical evidence on formation of the area, the claim is invalid.

In conclusion, the authors argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To make the argument valid careful scrutiny of broader evidence regarding both geography and archeology is necessary.