Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are responsible for endowing the children with the adequate knowledge to pursue their goals and assist them in making decisions for their life. However if this assistance turns out to be an intervention to childrens life in a negative way it may produce harmful results. I concede that success at school is an important criteria and a measure of childrens abilities to some extend but this is not the single determining factor. Therefore, educational institutions role should be restricted with knowledge provision and showing field options to pursue a career.

First of all, educational insitutions ,despite their importance, are standardized environments aiming to meet the demands of an average students. The way of teaching, the curriculum and the environment is restricted therefore can not be considered as a pristine reflection of professional life. Setting the school success as the main criteria for life will led to an ill judgement which in turn might produce erroneous outcomes. A highschool student failing at highschool algebra since he finds it very easy might become a pundit at abstract algebra during his university education. Also, it is impossible for educators to closely tract what their students are doing during their freetimes without a complete information on students interests and abilities outside school their judgement will be inevitably ill. Under lack of complete information, dissuading students from what they want to pursue is harmful for overall well being and possible success.

Secondly, teachers are not the only ones valueing success but families and children themselves also do. Considering their limited capacity in judging success as stated above the decision should be left to children itself. As they move further at school they will realize their tendencies, capacities and deficiencies which will lead to reassessment of their career plans. Future plans are always susceptible to change as student discovers more about herself and more about the outer life. If they value success, they will choose fields they tend to be succesful during this process. A direct intervention to this natural process by pressure and discouragement will subvert children from discovering herself and her abilities. Most of the young pupils have naive dreams such as becoming an astronout or a singer however as they face with their own realities and the realities of life they alter their goals so that they can make a living and be succesfull. If institution interrupts this natural process the anger, detest and discouragement produced will either make them hold on to this unrealistic goals even more or to develop a diffidence that further inhibit success.

Finally, persevarance, hardworking and love of what you do has much more contribution to success in professional life than sole abilities. A children might have a great quantative ability but what really fascinates him might be acting. If school discourages him from becoming actor to become a physician he would not utilize his capacity because he don’t enjoy the area itself which in turn hamper his success in the field.

To conclude, success in life is determined by many factors and can not be limited to school. An institution undermining this fact and using discouragement as a tool will not be able to reach its goals.