The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner of the Central Plaza recommends prohibiting skateboarding claiming that vandalism and littering brought by skateboarders lead to decrease in their businesses. This recommendation is purely distortion of the limited facts and without answering several crucial questions, will solve none of the Central Plazas problems. Therefore, questions of why citizens choose not to visit the center, what is the overall trend of shopping centers among country and who is actually responsible for the littering and vandalism should be asked. The answer of this questions might help finding better solutions.

First of all, we don't really know why shoppers decided not to visit the central plaza. A survey among old customers can be an answer for this ambiguity. For example, if the number of shopping centers increased in the city, citizens might be choosing to visit the shops closer where they live. If this is the case, prohibiting the skateboarding which obviously attracts skateboarders and lubricates the businesses would generate even lowered revenues. The shop owners can consider organizing events or contests to attract shoppers back to the central plaza according to the answer of this question.

Secondly, the overall economic codition of the country should be taken into account. We should know if people are deciding not to visit the central plaza specifically or all shopping centers. If there is a general trend of saving and the country is in an economic crisis people might have decided not to squander their money until the conditions improve. Again, blaming skateboarders for crowding out shoppers without answering this crucial question is not reasonable and will generate lower revenues.

One final question needed to be answered is that, who is actually responsible of the vandalism and littering. Increased number of skateboarders and increased number of littering are two distinct facts and there is no direct connection between them. Blaming skateboarding is a result of highly biased generalization. Hence, we can't know whether a group of people or the central plazas insufficient cleaning team is responsible for the situation. If later is the case, changing the cleaning team would produce more fertile results.

The answering of the above stated questions will lead better and well informed decisions. If the all answers and examination points out skateboarders, than the recommendation might become more sound. However, as it stands the recommendation is unpersuasive and likely to harm profits even more.