The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist,

visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by

an entire village rather than by their own biological

parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes

Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than

about other adults in the village. This research of

mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures

is invalid as well. The interview-centered method

that my team of graduate students is currently

using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate

understanding of child-rearing traditions there and

in other island cultures.”

Dr. Karp, in his recent article arrogantly claims that both Tertia culture and Dr. Field’s observation-based methodology is invalid presenting the result of the interviews his team made with the islanders as an evidence. Even at first glance,the argument seems plausible more evidence on the content of interviews, criterias for cultural validity and content of Dr. Fields interviews are necessary.

The first evidence shown by Dr. Karp is his interviews with children living at the island. He claims that children are talking much about their biological parents rather than the other adults on the island. However, we don’t know the content of the interviews if the questions asked are biased aiming to make those children talk about their biological parents, the evidence presented as valid to present island culture as invalid becomes merely a distortion of facts. Dr. Karp must have presented the interview questions, the childrens answers and the setting that interviews take place. For example, if Dr. Karp first tells them about non-islanders perception of their biological parents and ask them to compare it with their own perception of their biological parents its very like that the interview will focus on their biologial parents rather than other adults.

Secondly, even if the interviews were totally unbiased children talking much about their biological parents does not mean that the culture of the island is totally invalid. There must be a specific criteria presented considering their abilities as adults, charachters they exhibit and their overall well being. It is very likely for children to talk about a new concept, in this case their biological parents, since it is unfamiliar to them creates a wonder.

Finally, Dr. Karp claims that Dr. Field’s observation based approach is invalid showing his, also invalid, findings as an evidence. Since he can’t vindicate his findings and approach, refuting Dr. Field’s approach is not sound. He should present the findings of both studies, observations and interviews lead to those findings and then make a comparison between two approaches. As it stands, Dr. Karp might be fallacious by intervening the lifes of islanders by interviewing to them and distracting them from their routine daily and that might be creating a total new setting for islanders. If this is the case, the findings of Dr. Karp is totally invalid which makes his evidence against Dr. Field invalid as well.

To conclude, Dr. Karp’s arguments are highly unpersuasive as it stands. To make more informed judgements on both validity of islanders life style and Dr. Fields observation-based methodolgy more evidence most be presented.