Some students apply for admission only to their first-choice school, while others apply to several schools. Which plan do you agree with, and why? Be sure to include details and examples to support your opinion

A graduate school application process can be challenging, requires a lot time and commitment which causes candidates to be stressed a lot with the fear of getting a rejection. Also, this stress and fear of rejection limits their perspective and causes them to focus on what that single program wants rather discovering their own interests. To overcome this problems, students should apply several schools rather than sticking on their first choice. By creating themselves several options, they will reduce their risk of getting a rejection and have opportunity to discover new areas of interest by doing more research on other programs.

To begin with, applying only to the first program of choice is very risky since getting a rejection means loosing all the chance of attending to a graduate program at least for a year. This creastes a lot of stress and pressure which makes it harder to control the whole process. For example, I am currently applying for several graduate programs which of them are highly competitive due to their reputation and successful academics. I am aware of the fact that I might get rejected but by ensuring myself that even if I got a rejection from my top choice, I can still get into another program that is almost equally good. This helps me deal with stress and gives me more control over the overall application process.

Secondly, the fear of getting rejected from my top choice motivates me to do more research on my area of study and this way I discover more about the researches conducted in other US institutions in my profession. For example, I am applying to civil engineering graduate programs on energy efficient building design however as I do more research I realize that there are some programs that aims to make whole neighborhood energy efficient by integrating buildings with energy infrastructure system. Discovering such research and program focuses has broadened my perspective and I acquired new ideas that I can benefit during my whole graduate experience. My priority has not changed however, I discovered new things and realized that I will be equally happy in attending such programs.

To conclude, the stress arising from the competitive nature of the graduate program application progress and risks of rejection can limit the perspective of the applicants to fit exactly the program requirements if they have only one choice. Applying to several programs helps solving the problems and increases chances of getting acceptance.