"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can ın plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the preceding explanation the author tries to make a connection between organisms birth order and their level of stimulation by showing three noncomplementary studies on first born monkeys, first born human and first-time pregnant mothers as an evidence. He fallaciously claims that each organism in the studies have shown a higher cortisol level therefore first borns show a higher level of stimuli. However, study methodology is highly ambigous, sample size is inadequate and there is barely a connection between studies which makes the claim susceptible to several interpretations.

First of all, birth order is not the only difference between the studied monkeys. Considering the siblings, their differences in level of stimuli might be arising from the age differences. If cortisol is something that increases with age, deducting that birth order affects stimuli level substantially is wrong. To make the explanation more sound, the siblings cortisol level should have been measured when they were at the same age and recorded. If they are still not the same than at least we can rule out the possibility of age difference but still there is a long way to vindicate authors claims.

Secondly. The sample size is narrow to make such a gigantic argument. We need to test more monkeys and also design the experiment in a way that accounting for the differences of the monkeys. If they have a specific background, experience or a different origin they might be producing relatively higher cortisol levels. Study must be conducted on a larger sample size so that the other factors affecting the cortisol level can be differentiated. As it stands, higher level of cortisol level aftermath of a fearful stimuli during the experiment can be triggered by a past fearful experience of the monkey in the question.

Finally, the author shows fist time mother monkeys as an evidence however fails to make a connection between his claim. He overlooks the fact that high cortisol level of first time mother could have been transmitted to the blood of the first born children. Which will disappear as the monkey ages.

To conclude, there are many possible explanations fit well with the presented evidence if the author fails to make the connections between the arguments and explains the mechanisms behind the studies.