Some students apply for admission only to their first-choice school, while others apply to several

schools. Which plan do you agree with, and why? Be sure to include details and examples

to support your opinion.

A graduate school application process can be challenging, requires a lot time and commitment which causes candidates to be stressed a lot with the fear of getting a rejection. Also, this stress and fear of rejection limits their perspective and causes them to focus on what that single program wants rather discovering their own interests. Even though I understand that some students may choose to give their all energy to their first choice school, it is better to keep options available to overcome this problems. By creating several options, candidates will reduce their risk of getting a rejection and also they will have more motivation to discover new areas of interest by doing more research on other programs.

To begin with, applying only to the first program of choice is very risky since getting a rejection means losing all the chances of attending to a graduate program at least for a year. This creates a lot of stress and pressure which makes it harder to control the whole process. For example, I am currently applying for several graduate programs which of them are highly competitive due to their reputation and successful academics. I am aware of the fact that I might get rejected but by ensuring myself that even if I got a rejection from my top choice, I can still get into another program that is almost equally good. Knowing that I’ll eventually get at least one acceptance helps me deal with stress and gives me more control over the overall application process.

Secondly, the fear of getting rejected from my top choice motivates me to do more research on my area of study and this way I discover more about the researches conducted in other US institutions in my profession.To expatiate more, I am applying to civil engineering graduate programs on energy efficient building design however as I do more research I realize that there are some programs that aims to make whole neighborhood energy efficient by integrating buildings with energy infrastructure system. Discovering new research and different program focuses has broadened my perspective and I acquired new ideas that I can benefit during my graduate studies. My priority has not changed however, I explored several other ways to contribute science and realized that I will be almost equally happy in attending such programs.

To conclude, the stress arising from the competitive nature of the graduate program application progress and risks of getting a rejection can limit the perspective of the applicants to fit exactly the program requirements if they have only one choice. Applying to several programs helps solving the problems and increases chances of getting acceptance.