Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Anytime a political figure makes a mistake or a businessman get caughts living a regular mans life the situation is presented in media as a scandal. Things that dont really matter to public when a regular man did suddenly gains the utmost importance when a renown person does the same. Most of the time this so called scandals are moot to public and rather than being informative turns in to an entertainment subject. Ofcourse there are people who also digs deeper in to the issue and tries to understand its implications and this is useful for that small portion. However, the perception of the majority is not alike and rather than being useful, scandals are harmful for majority of the public by distorting their attention from more important issues.

Scandals most of the time pulls redundant attention than they deserve but not because of the importance of the issue, mostly due to the public figures charm that are engaged in the mentioned scandalous affair. Rather than the constituent of the scandal ,rather it is economic, social or personal, what matter to public is the actors involved in it. Therefore their efficiency in enlightening public in some problems is limited. Average public rather than considering the legal and economic implications of the scandal or the nature of the problem focuses on the gossip part of it. Therefore scandals are not likely to reach their goals.

Aside from their inability in enlihtening the public, scandals distort attention from other issues which are more crucial in an average citizens daily life. Suddenly everyone forget about the increasing energy prices or the diplomatic problems with a neighboring country or the latest limitations on agricultural production and focus on the light night shows discussing the scandal as an entertainment subject. This proves that scandals saps all the attention on public to issues largely irrelevant to them.

Finally, scandals for the sake of attention are denigrating for people who are involved in it. Of course there must bu a punishmet for corruption and any type of wrongdoing but this must be left to judges. Once a scandal pops out people involved in it their families and friends are all under pressure and they become target of a huge public scorn. Their lifes get irrevocable damage therefore it became impossible for them to lead a regular life after their punishment period ends.

To conclude, scandals while trying to focus attention to understated issues are not useful for the general public and injudiciously harmful for the people who are involved in it.