The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the memorandum concludes that more time should be devoted to weather and local news to attract more viewers and make more business revenue considering the number of complaints from the viewers and declining advertisement contracts. Even though seems plausible at first glance, this is a hurried conclusion that requires further examination of the evidence. The author neither knows the constituent of the complaints nor the exact number and its distribution among other issues. Also, the evidence regarding the declining advertisement revenues is insufficient for such a conclusion. Under the light of more evidence different conclusions might also be made.

First of all, number of complaints solely does not that audience wants to see more weather and local news. The complaints might be regarding to some other issue such as the harmful language used during show or the inappropriate clothing of the presenter. If this is the case warning the production team would be a more sound action rather than changing the late show. Without knowing what exactly are the viewers complaining about jumping into this conclusion would not increase the viewers therefore remain ineffective.

Secondly, the distribution of the complaints is also important. Unless the late night show received significantly higher complaints than the other shows of the station the proposal would not be effective. If all subjects have receive close number of complaints but weather and local news received slightly higher, this might indicate a general quality problem about the station. Sound quality or the visual quality might be one of them and again rather than focusing on the late night show, the station must take suitable actions to solve a broader problem.

The final evidence required is related to the advertisement revenue. We should know the other stations advertisement revenues to take a logical decision. There might be a national trend among business to cut or divert their advertisement budget. Business might have decide that internet advertising is more profitable than television advertising thus choose to divert funds. If this is the case, there is no fault in late show. Rather than blaming the weather and local news coverage station should revise its advertisement proposals.

To conclude, the television stations obviously needs to attract more audience and increase revenue but the way of doing so is still debatable without careful scrutiny of the evidence.