Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that evidence has come to light recently that suggests that a specific style of woven basket previously believed to belong distinctly to the prehistoric village of Palea was in fact not unique to the Palean people. The evidence the author cites is the discovery of one such basket in the ancient village of Lithos. Since this village is across the Brim River and no Palean boats have been discovered the author concludes these basket then must not be uniquely Palean. Though this conclusion may seem logical at first glance upon further investigation evidence is lacking.

For one do we know that the Brim River was deep at the time of these prehistoric villages. The author is vague on this point it is simply stated that the river is broad and deep. The depth of a river is not a constant, this is something that is continually changing due to precipitation, erosion, and natural disasters such as earthquakes. Evidence indicating the depth of the river around the time of these people could potentially strengthen or weaken the authors argument. If the river really was deep in this time period then the argument is strengthened, but if it was shallow and the Palean people would have been able to cross by foot the argument is weakened if not completely refuted.

Trade routes among villages could get very complex. Investigating the trade routes of the Palean people and surrounding villages to see if it connects them to the Brim people at all could provide evidence weakening the authors argument. It was very common for multiple villages to trade goods amongst one another in parts of the world. It may be possible that the Palean people traded their baskets in exchange for other goods with a village on the same side of the river of them. Then perhaps this village had access to boats and traded the basket they received from the Palean people with the Lithos people. This would thus negate the requirement that the Palean people have a boat to explain how their basket got across the Brim river if it was deep.

The evidence of finding the basket across the river in the Lithos village may be indicative that they weren't uniquely Palean. But the authors argument is not sufficient in evidence to make these claims and further investigating needs to be done.