To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some might think that to understand the most important characteristics of a society one must study its major cities, but I disagree. Just looking at the major cities of a society can give a warped view of a society and cause one to draw conclusions about the characteristics of the society that do not apply outside of the major cities.

The major cities of a society is nearly synonymous with the urban areas of that society. Urban areas formed around the hotspots for trade, work, and food and they still remain the most major cities for most of the world. When thinking of major cities of the world Tokyo, Paris, London, Dublin, New York, and San Francisco, to name a few, all come to mind. But these individual cities are far from representative from the society as a whole. If one thinks that the characteristics of these urban cities can be applied to the rest of the society they are mistaken.

For example I grew up in Northeast Ohio in one of the suburbs right outside of Cleveland, then for college I moved to Columbus, Ohio. Cleveland and Columbus are two of the most major cities of Ohio, and both are very urban areas with suburbs surrounding. But from driving throughout the state back and forth between Columbus and Cleveland I quickly learned that the representation and understanding that I had of Ohio was not representative of Ohio. Sprawled across Ohio between the major cities is amish country, forests, farms, acres of corn and soy fields, and sparse houses and business. These geographic differences do correlate with a different way of life. This is even evident in politics when looking at election maps in Ohio the more major cities usually tend to lean democratic and the surrounding areas in between more republican. Meaning that if someone wanted to study Ohio and only focused on the major cities they may conclude that Ohio is a very liberal state when in fact there is a lot of Ohio that has more a more conservative viewpoint that would just be ignored.If someone had wanted to study the society and culture of Ohio and they just focused on Cleveland and Columbus they would have a skewed idea of the characteristics of Ohio.

Now of course to understand the most important characteristics of a society it is still important to study the major cities. Societies developed around major cities, so a lot of characteristics of a society were originally based in the major cities. But ways of life evolve and characteristics change. It must be remembered that the major cities shouldn't be studied exclusively. It is important to look at a society at a whole understand the major cities and what drives people to and away from them. Compare the people who live in the major cities versus the less major cities what do they have in common what is different? It would be easier and less time consuming to just focus on the major cities but if one truly wants a representative view of a society its imperative that they study both major and non major cities alike.