Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it is possible that the woven baskets were not uniquely Palean, it is by no means certain from the presented argument. The argument makes bold assumptions without taking the bigger picture into consideration.

For instance, the Brim River in ancient times may not have been as deep and broad as it is now. In that case, it cannot be said that ancient Paleans could have only crossed the river via boat. Alternatives to boats such as rafts which are more make-shift could have been a medium of transport across the river hence the implication is rather daunting. There could also have been portions of the river narrow in width allowing villagers to come up with indigenous ways to get across. Finding information about the state of the river in the past is thus crucial to the argument. Moreover, abscence of evidence for the existence of Palean boats does not imply that there were never any boats. Maybe there were boats which got destroyed, or as time flew with the construction of bridges and modern architecture boats were rendered obsolete, making it difficult to trace them. So we also need to know about the technological advancements at the time to make any conclusions.

The argument speaks about discovery of a single basket, which could have gotten to Lithos by any means. Albeit improbable, maybe river currents were favorable and a basket thrown into the river happened to land on the other side, somehow finding it's way to Lithos. We need to know if there are many more such baskets found in Lithos, which would make a stronger case for the argument. It is possible that the woven baskets had ample demand and traders from Palea travelled across villages to sell these. We thus need to know about the economy at the time, as well as the means available for communication.

It is also crucial to know when in history these baskets would have first been discovered in Lithos. If the archaeological excavation dates them to a more recent time, then there could be enough infrastructure by then which would have made commute across the Brim River easier, weakening the argument. On the other hand, if there is evidence that the "Palean" baskets found in Lithos were from around the same time as when they were found in vicinity of Palea, it would support the claim that these baskets were not uniqely Palean.

All these points considered together would provide a complete picture which is needed to evaluate the argument.