To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Major cities are significant contributors in terms of the economy of a region, as a variety of occupations are practiced in these cities providing large-scale employment to tons of people. Here you will often find people from diverse social and cultural backgrounds, different walks of life, combining to co-exist as a society. Cities in general offer a better standard of living - be it healthcare, higher quality of education or abundance of work opportunities. The major cities in an area are thus highly associated with the development of the region, as they are also the foreground for technological advancements and innovations, where people are more aware about varied mindsets to collaborate and take the next steps to develop. A study of major cities would also reveal how the society interacts with the "outside" world, as these are likely to be the primary centres for communication.

Having said that, society is about each and every member who is part of it. In that matter, people living in urban areas are more likely to have a nuclear and individualistic thought process, as opposed to the collectivist mindset prevalent in rural areas. Co-operation with others is one of the most important characteristics of a society, so a study of the other side also needs consideration. The lifestyle in country-side areas can be quite different compared to that observed in major cities. New technology may be unavailable, and there is not a lot of variety or options in the occupations that the people can take up. India, for instance, is one of the world's leaders in practicing agriculture, which is not something which one can observe by simply studying the major cities, as agriculture is largely done in rural areas where vast spaces of land are available with relative ease. Also, more than twenty percent of villages in India still do not have access to electricity twenty-four hours a week, seven hours a day! So the population in rural areas have a much higher need for collaborating, as opposed to major cities where one can satisfy their need for daily requirements by simply walking to the nearest convenience store, or even at the tap of a single button on their cell phones. Thus, to understand the most important aspects of a society, we must study it's major cities, but we cannot choose to ignore the other part of society, which in developing countries may even comprise of a majority of the total population.

I've been in an urban background since the beginning, but have also had the pleasure of experiencing the country-side for many of my summer vacations, with my uncle being a farmer. So I've firsthand realized some of the differences in tradition, facilities and culture between the two, and both sides of the coin are equally important to understanding about society. In conclusion, unlike the statement suggests, simply a study of the major cities won't be enough and we need a study of the all walks of life to understand the most important characteristics of a society.