Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Cultural identity of the civilizations that preceded us are present in parts and pieces that we must find. It’s our job to use these pieces to complete the jigsaw and glean as much as we can about these civilizations. Often we don’t have all the parts of the puzzle, in which case we must make certain assumptions on the facts available to us. When we recieve new information, we must reassess these assumptions. This is what’s happening in the given argument. The author made some assumptions and in light of new evidence it’s possible that those assumptions were flawed. To rectify or confirm the conclusions made from these assumptions, some more evidence is certainly required.

There is the possibility that Lithos traded those woven baskets with Palea. In such a case it’s completely fine to find those woven baskets in Lithos. To confirm this, we need proof that people of Lithos had developed boats strong enough to cross the Brim River. It might even be the case that some other group of people behaved as the intermediary in these transactions, acting as the middle man or simply transporting the goods. For any of these assumptions to be true, we need evidence that people at that point in history, were capable of crossing the river.

Even if people were incapable of crossing the river because they weren’t technologically advanced to do so, they could have crossed the river if the river became shallow for a certain time period. For instance there could have been a drought for few years that would have reduced the quantity of water in the river, making it shallow enough for people to cross it. Maybe the river was diverted for some time due to some natural occurences that allowed people to travel from Lithos to Palea and vice versa. All these possibilties require a proper study of the Brim River and the surrounding geographical area. Only then can we firmly conclude or deny this possibility.

Despite all this, we should not ignore the fact that both these villages must have descended from someone. If they descended form the same group of people, it’s safe to assume that the woven baskets are unique to that group of people. If that is the case, it makes complete sense for similar woven baskets to be found in both the villages. They were just passed down to the people of these villages from their ancestors. To confirm this possibility we need to know the history of the people of these villages.

In conclusion, the reason for occurence of the woven baskets in both these villages goes beyond these villages. The specific evidences aforementioned are critical to understanding how it happened but there is always a possibility that some possible scenario has been overlooked, which might require separate evidence. Nonetheless, this riddle is based on multifarious external factors, and only by carefully analysing and studying those factors can we gain conclusive evidence to find a solution.