To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Ever since ancient times, people have always flocked to cities in search of livelihood, to fulfil their ambitions or simply because they were in awe of it. As such it’s safe to say that as of now majority of a countries population lives in its cities. Hence, does it make it safe to say that the most important characteristics of a society can be found in its major cities? I disagree. While urban areas are the citadel of technology, commerce, art and everything else modern, the rural areas are where the true essence of a country lies. This stark difference in the rural and urban areas of a country exists because the urban regions points towards where a society is heading while the rural regions hold the qualities that brought the society to where it is today. Thus if we really wish to observe the important characteristics of a society, the most germane approach would be to look at the qualities which brought it to where it is today.

Before even comparing the major cities to their more traditional counterparts, it would be better if we understand what are the major characteristics of a society. Society is simply a collective word for the people and the manner in which they live their lives. Their lifestyle and culture is what gives a society its iconic identity. while it might not appear such, it’s economy is one of the paramount characteristics of a society. Only by observing these qualities can we begin to define the qualities of a society.

Having lived my childhood in one of the most urban and modern cities of my country, I can say that they are an amalgation of different cultures and lifestyles. The chaotic, fast paced life is certainly iconic to these cities. These centers of commerce and technology have people live their entire lives running between their workplaces and their homes. In retrospect the rural regions hold the heart and soul of the country. They are peaceful havens of calmness and serenity. They are the indefatigable pillar that supports the country and its people.

Coming from a major city and having spent my college years in a small town, I can safely say that despite being in awe of the huge majestic structures that make the entirety of major cities, the small towns have a delectable earthly charm of their own. you’ll find strangers friendlier than your buddies and a feeling of contentness that’s impossible to find elsewhere. Hence I feel that the intrinsic qualities of a society, the ones that actually matter can only be found nestled in the cradle of its rural people.