Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in

the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been

made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean"

basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep

and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats

have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Although it seems true that as baskets with those specific patterns did not just belong to Palea people as they found in other far sites too, the author’s argument is not convincing and there are a plethora of flaws in his assumption about the denying of baskets originality.

Firstly, as these baskets were found in Lithos which were located near the Brim River from Palea, it is possible that the water flaw brought the baskets from Palea and they were caught or trapped in Lithos village. As baskets are light, they can be easily carried by water.

Moreover, the author claimed that the river is very deep and broad, so it was impossible to cross it. But he did not mention its past form. He did not depict any picture about the river situation in the past when Palea were lived. It is likely that this river was narrow or shallow and people could cross it easily and transfer baskets in order to sell in Lithos. It is even possible that this river was not in the past and it was generated during the time due to the floods or other natural disasters.

Furthermore, the author stated that no boats were found near the locations. It is worth mentioning that boats are made by wood and wood ruins during the time and decomposed to the soil. Thus, it is not a strong assumption to deny the absence of boats in Palea time. In addition, boats are not the only facility for crossing the river. There are numerous alternative options such as bridges which are not considered by the author.

By way of conclusion, although the author’s arguments seem right and logical, there are multitude drawbacks which must be addressed. The author should consider the river's past geological situation. Other villages alongside rivers should be explored to find more evidence about the woven baskets. By clarifying aforementioned floats, the argument would be more treatable.