"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an

individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an

encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the

hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings.

Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time

mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Although it seems true that there is a direct relationship between level of cortisol and the order of baby born, there are a plethora of flaws about the author's assumption that does not make an argument cogent and convincing.

First of all, the author used 18 samples in his experiment, while this number of samples does not seem to be enough for eventuating to the valid result. Moreover, the study used just one kind of monkey which makes it hard to expand it to other types of monkeys. It is also worth mentioning that there is no control group to evaluate the other factors' effects. For instance, it is possible that results stem from external elements and the author interprets them as an effect of order of baby born.

Furthermore, it is a troublesome analogy to compare human babies with monkey’s one since they are completely different in genetic level and even in their psychological manner. Thus, these variations may lead to different results. For example, a human child after born immediately starts to analyze the environment, however monkeys mostly are independent to their intrinsic feeling.

In addition, the author did not mention the feature of stimulating. It is possible that all monkeys did not depict a certain reaction to specific stimulating. Also, it does not mention the characteristics of monkeys such as their gender, age, healthy situation, environment where they grew up, etc. All aforementioned factors can alter the results. It tells nothing about their rule as parents, first child, second child or third one as well.

Last but not least, there is no clear relationship between the amounts of cortisol in a mother's body who is pregnant for the first time with the amounts of the same material in the body of the first child. Moreover, the author did not address the human mothers to compare their results with monkeys’ and suggest more treatable evidence.

By way of conclusion, although the author’s arguments seem right and logical, there are multitude drawbacks which must be addressed. The author should use more samples from different types of monkeys and include a control group to eliminate other effects which are not related to the experiment. Argument also should give more information about the condition of stimulation.