16. Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

As per the topic, the author mentions the opinion of some portion of people that for being a effective leader, one must yield to public opinions but a large portion of people believe that for being an effective leader, one must not go away from his/her principles. I agree with the first sentence of the issue provided but conditional on the second sentence.great leaders proced themselves effective by being attentive to public opinions rather than being bound to the principles. if the public opinuion is not best suitable for the situation of tyhe country then one must rely on the principlkes and act accordingly.

mahatma gandhi, the great social ;leader of India, fought with the rising circumstancesd for the people and struggled as per the public opinion. For the enhancement of the leadership and trusrt, one leader must go upon public opinions and should work for the welfare of the people.

Another example for the second sentence can be taken of The great king of Nepal, prithvi Nararyan shah, who unified the small fragmented statesd of the country into the one solid nation. This has been possible because of his determination on his own principles and objectives of unifying the small states into a single nation being irrespective to the public opinion. if he had relied upon the public opinion the he would not have been successful in the consolidation of the nation. thus, he did not leave the track opf unifying the states amnd thus his principles mader him The great leader of the nation. However, sometimes being relied only on the principles might also brinbg hindrances in one's goals and priorities.

From the above examples of mahatma gandhi and The great king prithvi Narayan shah, i got to be agreed totally with the first sentence and conditional with the second sentence.