1. Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author of the issue claims that there are two schools about the effect of challenging for getting higher grading in the educational system over the students. One group believes that this sense of competition is helpful for promoting in the class; on the other hand, the other group feels this sense degrade the learning quality. In what follows, I will list the possible rearing reasons for both perspective; and finally, I will posit my standpoint.

The school, which beliefs the competition for getting a higher point in the grading system of school stimulus the students, weighs the influence of motivation on human beings. Indeed, motivation is a vital motor for going through a severe process and becoming successful. According to the noteworthy refreshing data released by the Psychology Department of Tehran University, the existence of motivation increases the chance of success in any task by the average of forty-five percent. Therefore, this group has considered the grading system as the engine of competition for getting a higher level.

As mentioned, on the other hand, there is another group which beliefs racing for getting the higher grade limits the learning quality. This group may feel that the sense of competing for a solo higher grade will affect student effort for learning the entire topics. Indeed, the exam covers the specific issues and is incapable of covering entire topics discussed in the class. A lucid example of this fact is the final examination which holds an hour and tries to cover the total discussed topics in the nine-month education period; it is obvious that an hour cannot cover the nine-month. In addition, the test emphasizes the most crucial topics. In this scenario, the attempt for getting the better rank in the exam is equal to the working on that specific topic which will be held on the test; therefore, the student will be the master of that field and has failures on the others.

If I have to clarify my viewpoint, the second group is the one with which I mostly concur. First of all, its supporting reason is plausible and reasonable. Besides, I have one more reason to support my viewpoint and it is the questionability of the examination system. Unfortunately, the examination system in the schools has lots of mistakes, and one of these mistakes in the caused pressure by the stress. The young pupil who does not have any actual life experiences during his seven-year life goes through the various tests to clarify his level of understanding and with his failures in the tests, he will get the label of the unsatisfied level of learning. This situation is really stressful for him, and this pressure could affect the student’s concentration in the exam and leads to his failure. Therefore, highlighting the exams and their grades as the motivation for excelling in the class is a futile effort.

To wrap it up, although the first school considered the exam as the motivation source for excelling, since the testing system is not flueless and comprehensive, putting weight on it will lead to severe problems such as the stressed students who mastered on a specific field.