1. The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that the certain benchmark of a great nation is the public welfare of denizens of that nation instead of the rulers, artists, or scientist’s feat. This is the assertation with which I do not concur. Among the countless rearing reasons, I will list the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs to support my standpoint.

The first striking fact which should be considered is the preparation of welfare and citizens’ satisfaction are rudimentary duties of each governor. No matter what is the policy of a nation, the main and fundament role of the governor is providing sufficient sources to fulfill the people basic needs. For instance, the free and high-level health care, the high-standard educational system, and the plenty of occupancy capacities are basic needs of each citizen and governor with no doubt and exception is responsible for. Consequently, the coverage of the basic needs of the governor should not be listed as the indicator of the greatness of society. This fact also gets more logical by the consideration of the candidates of government’s attempt for getting the majority of votes during the election. Since the election is done by the citizens, and people of the nation make the decision over the responsible person, in this case, all troths of governments are seeking to appeal the people to get more vote.

Another crux point which should be considered is the chasm willing of the human-being for thriving. Indeed, it is obviously explicated that mankind never gives up the seeking of flourishing and thriving, all these growths are actually beyond the basic requirements which are mentioned as the welfare of people in the writer’s claim. An individual according to his talent, knowledge, and desire can go steps further and explore the novel realms. In addition, these explorations are feasible in a case which the fundament requirements of mankind are responded. Therefore, the achievements of the citizens in the various fields lucidly represents the people’s satisfaction and their high-status of lifestyle. For instance, the United States is listed among the top ten great countries in the annual ranking, the main reasons for this position are the rich adherence that people gain from their governors and has this opportunity to delve into the various areas with success.

Finally, the adduced sentence has separated the successful people’s feats from the other ordinary people; besides, considered them as the minority and underestimate their successes. However, it is not a fair perspective toward the issue. The undeniable fact which should be highlighted is those successful people are also from the identical nation and possess similar conditions as the public. Therefore, it would not be a wise action to separate their achievement from other people. On the other hand, as they could bust on that environment, it shows that space owns the platform for waxing the people talent.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned facts entirely illustrate that the achieved success by the artists, ruler, and scientist are mere representor of the society’s greatness.