1.The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statem

There are umpteen of indicators which decide whether a nation stands out from others or it stands far behind.Among those indicators, basic physiological needs,education,security are of utmost importance.There could be rulers,artists or scientists whose contribution to the nation is remarkable and unavoidable but that could not suffice to make the nation a paragon of excellence.Here, I concur with the assertion that only the eminent persons and their achievements can not be responsible solely to define the greatness of a nation.In the ensuing paragraph, I shall aptly illustrate my point of view with some examples.

First of all, a nation may produce dynamic engineers,invent some ground-breaking experiments and explore beyond the horizon but that does not imply that each and every corner of that nation enjoys the boon of science. Let me cite an example to shed some light on this point of view.In my country India,which already established it's position on global platform as one of the greatest country in terms of space explorations,innovation of cutting-edge technologies.However, the knowledge of economic status and the number of under-privileged people are utterly disheartening.There are so many places in our country which still do not have the connection of electricity.In this aspect,a nation wearing the crown of excellence seems too apocryphal and ludicrous.

Secondly, a nation can produce a myriad of Nobel laureates which is arrantly very encouraging to the layperson and instill impetus to pave the trail of their own success.But in sharp juxtaposition, there are people who do not have access to all the basic physiological needs like food,water and shelter and their lives are stricken with proverty and lack of sanitation and health treatment have made their lives miserable.On this ground one can easily casts doubts on such nations greatness or the given title " paradigm of excellence".

Furthermore, This kind of situation can easily be conceived, if we try to draw a analogy between the situation of nation and a small enterprise or institution.For example, if an educational institute is capable of producing some students say, ten percent who achieve exceptional accomplishments in a competitive exam while the remaining ninety percent students appeared with ranks which is quite unsatisfactory.In contrary,there is a instituion where eighty percent of students come up with decent score would inevitably achieved a real success.

To sum up,a great nation is not a nation which produce a handful of examples or a nation where only few people can enjoy their basic rights rather a nation which gives people access to there rights and make the whole nation an inclusive one.