3. It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

The given claim stated that city is served as the primary generator and preserver of cultural traditions for a nation. I think it is not necessarily true under all the circumstances where the culture and traditions could evolve. Therefore, I can only partially agree with the author.

First of all, we have to consider a question: how the culture and traditions are invented at the first place? In my view, I think the key part of the answer should be the people, though we cannot assert the absolute answer to this abstract problem. Then, it naturally comes to the city as a pivotal component to support people gathering together in order to create a social patter, which could be called culture or tradition. We could see numerous examples of historical cities which reserved the precious part of the culture of a nation, take London for example, the Big Ben as well as the parliament building in Westminster is the prominent symbol for the ancient city which witnessed thousands of years history from Victorian to the second world war. Even when a civil war destroyed the cathedrals, there buildings are still under proper protection. Nevertheless, it is reasonable to view city as a good place for culture symbol.

However, if we go back to the point of the previous question, it is clearly the fact not all the people live in the city no matter which era they are makes it not coherence to ignore rural places also play an important part in presenting the culture of a nation. In fact, there were more people settled in the countryside or sporadic towns than metropolitan cities in history. It is only because the industrialization and globalization that more and more people crowed in cities. Small English town like Windsor where the Royal Family used to live, rustic cottage where the author of Jean Austin stayed are both unavoidable part of English culture.

Actually, the way of society group the people together is crucial to where the culture develops. As the examples show above, there are rural English way of lifestyle as well as city lifestyle, how can we brutally decide which way of life can generate cultural traditions? This is why city is only one possible place where the culture of a nation thrives.

To conclude, the evolution and preservation of cultural traditions varies according to the characteristics of the lifestyle of the people, it is not precise to value city as the paramount part of it. Therefore, I could only agree with the author partly.