An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The author suggests that the ailing patient should have an access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly affected patients. I disagree with author's point of view as maybe the disease is same in both patients but how their body responds to particular treatment can be different.

We always do research and analysis about the doctor before consulting the doctor. But, the patient should not be given other patient's records. Nowadays, we have many mobile applications such as Practo where one can find a suitable doctor for himself and read the reviews and rating. Use of such applications should be promoted if patients want to know about the competency of the doctor.

Providing easy access to other patient's records is a violation of their privacy. There may be a case when his medical records can be misused by someone.If the patient wants to be sure about the treatment he is undergoing then he can show his reports to another doctor for validation purpose. The patient's can although interact with each other to share their experiences.Let us consider a scenario where two patients are suffering from Cancer. Although the disease is same, but the stages of their disease can be different. One might be at initial stage and other can be at final stage. It is the doctor who will decide the perfect treatment for both as the treatment will be different.

Human body reacts in different ways to a certain treatment varying from person to person.Let us a patient has gone through records of another person with same disease and finds out something worse than his. This will lead to anxiety in the patient and he will be skeptical about the ability of his doctor. Both physical and mental fitness are needed for a person to be free of any disease. The patient can be misguided through this records which he cannot even observe properly in medical terms.

To conclude, I would suggest not to share the doctor's records of treating other patients. We should believe in our doctor based on his qualification and how our body is responding to his treatment initially.