An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

It is the right of every patient to know about the capabalities of the doctor in which they have entrusted their health care to. The patient's trust with their doctor is as important as the treatment given for the ailment. However, this knowledge might bring in additionaly issues during the course of the treatment. Hence, I believe that an ailing patient should not be privy to information that is beyond their sphere of understanding.

Firstly, I would like to point out that trust is an important factor for curing a disease. A positive vibe has been proved to provide a greater success in eradicating a disease. Let us consider the case of a surgery where in most of their patients are under anesthasia during the operation. The amount of trust placed on the surgeon is mountaneous. Even in an unconsious state, the patient has to be emotionally stable for the surgery to end well. Hence, when an ailing patient is provided with access to previous records, there are possibilities that it might induce greater fear in their patients thus reducing the success of the treatment.

Secondly, an ailing patient might not have sufficient knowledge to understand the records provided. Thus this move to provide easy access to patients would not have any gain. Additionally, a medical scholar might be able to understand the treatment methods all too well and could be critical of this treatment. In this case, every suggestion of their doctor would be critisized by the patient. The dubious patient would put forward increased amount of questions and the doctor would have to spent additional time to provide assurance. Also, is it necessary to provide records of other treatments in all cases? For simple and non-fatal diseases, this move would be useless.

Thirdly, giving access to records of previous patients with similar ailments would be bring forth privacy issues. However, this easy access would also cause the doctor to keep himself in check at all times. Knowing that the treatment of every patient is important to determine the future of his career would be incentive for doctors to not persue underhand methods. Thus, this can also be a boon the ailing patient. But this positive edge does not overcome the numerous drawbacks it brings with it.

To sum, an ailing patient should not be given easy access to doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients as this causes the doctors to be at a huge disadvantage and can affect the success of the treatment provided.