All colleges and universities students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country

there are many factors on which the growth of a college student depends: The proper infrastructure, quality of the surrounding students, quality of the teachers etc. While, In a developed country like The United States where there are a myriad of colleges that provide students with proper facilities, the students might not need to spend any time in foreign countries. but, developing countries like india, in contrast, lack the cutting edge technology, tools and infrastructures which can be made use of by the students. Allowing students to spend one semester in foreign countries might help them in understanding their field better and in-process, helping them in becoming better in their field of study.

To provide an evidence to my argument, I’ll take the example of Sundar Pichai, who has made his name as the CEO of one of the most innovative companies of the world. Had he not gone to stanford for further studies would he have been able to reach such heights? it’s highly doubtful. When he got to study in prestigious university like stanford, he was able to fully realise his potential.

one more advantage of spending time learning in foreign countries is that students get to interact with many students from varied countries of origin. this helps the student in gaining various points of view on topics and also helps them to build a comprehensive network. networking is a very useful skill for a college student that helps him to thrive in this demanding world. In addition, getting the knowledge of various cultures helps in the student’s overall development.

but, as not color is completely black or white, there are some factors that can act against the argument and should be taken into account before making any decision. one of the major factors is the economic background of the student. As in developing countries such as india, the students are dependent on their families for financial support. making spending a semester in foreign country mandatory might put unnecessary burden on the families of such students and in turn, forcing students to depend on the student loans which is an additional burden on college going students.

To conclude, encouraging students to spend a semester in a foreign country will be a welcome step which will help in the growth of the students. but, it should not be made mandatory as it might put an additional financial burden on them.