All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The role of a parent in their child’s life is of great importance that can take many different shapes and forms. One of which is the relationship that exists among parents and their children’s school. It is not doubtful that a strong communication between parents and the school is a must for the benefit of our young ones but the recommendation takes the extent to which, this dynamic should work, a bit too far. Moreover, the recommendation it self could be judged as contradictory since volunteer work is not something that should be forced on people. However, essential minimum levels of volunteer time on the side of the parents to their children’s school cannot be denied.

How much time should a parent spend with their children is a very important question regarding the process of raising children. Experts’ opinions differ from one another, however, it is undeniable that a minimum amount of time should be allotted to our children, which could differ in various stages of a child’s life. In this aspect, that the recommendations suggest parents should spend time for their children, is absolutely correct, but forcing this action regardless of other factors could prove to unnecessary. Imagine that some parents do every thing they ought to do for their children. They provide a positive environment for their children to grow up in. They tend to their emotional as well as their physical needs. And in addition they also take part in every school meeting that the children’s school needs them to attend. However, in order to provide for their children, they need to spend every other minute of their lives working for the sake of the children. As a result the kid is having a very good and fulfilling life. One that will lead to his happiness. In this situation forcing the parents to volunteer time could change the entire dynamic of the family and stops the wheels to spin as smoothely as they can. In this regard the recommendation could prove to be disadvantageous.

On the other side of the spectrum, parents should be encouraged to consider some time for their children’s school. From the ages of 5 or 6, school plays a crussial moment part in children’s lives. This is the instance that they are really put into the society. Thus, parents should pay attention to the details of their children’s school life. The recommendation is on the spot on this point, that spending time to volunteer to children’s school could prove advantageous. As an instance, if a child is not doing well in a subject like math, the first instinct of parents is that the school is somehow at fault here. Either the school does not require the children to study well or maybe their teacher is neglegant toward his duties. However, this could be not the case. If the parent spent more time for their children’s school, they would find out that both the management system and the teachers are doing a perfect job, and that their child is having a problem that other children are not facing with. In this case, the parent might find the reason for their child’s shortcoming is a result of the situation at home between the parents. Or the fact that a problem with a sibling might be the cause of this. In this aspect the recommendation could prove golden, and advantages like this paint the merit of the suggestion it makes.

To recap different aspects of the recommendation, it is important for parents to spend time for their children’s school in addition to the time they spend for their children, since it can give them a more cogent picture of the lives that their children are living. It can provide them with additional information to make correct decision upon. However, the recommendation crosses the boundry by forcing this on the parent. It not exaggeration to say that most parents want their kid to grow up happy, healthy and successful, and thus they most likely will volunteer time to their children’s schools if they are given the option.