College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The choice of major at university for students is a daunting one. Many struggle between the majors that they are really interested in and the one that have the potential to make the most money. If the two align, the choice is easy, but if they don’t, that’s when the recommendation comes into play. I truly agree with the recommendation that students should be encouraged to follow their interest because at the end of the day, it is them who have to live with what they have chosen. Thus, they may as well choose something that excites them to live one.

To start with, if one follows his interests, it is surely guaranteed that he will lead a happy life, which is the very rudimentary goal of every person who has ever lived. College students should be encouraged to so, not to only live a happy life, but to also lead a successful one. This success is defined differently from person to person, however, in the case of education, ask any successful individual and you will most likely hear that they either followed their interest or they became interested in what the chose as their path. You will never come across some one who is not interested in their field of work and is happy or successful. Imagine this, a student who is not quite sure what to do with his education chooses to study in the field of history because he finds it attractive in the first glance and another students with somewhat of the same ambivalence who chooses to go into economics, even though it does not interest him at all, just because of the possible job market. It is clear to a certain degree that which one won’t regret his choice. If the second student does not become interested in economics as time passes he defenatly won’t be happy in his life.

The second thing to consider is that if one follows his passion, this passion will eventually lead to a vast amount of knowledge that turns that individual into an expert, which is a very important element in career of any person. Even if an students follows a field that does not have a myriad of job opportunities, if that person follows her passion and becomes an expert in the field she will surely have a very happy and successful life ahead of her. The advice to follow your passion will always pay of, even though at times it might seem like it won’t.

Another aspect to consider, is the fact that the job market is always changing and if someone chooses a field that he or she is not interested in just because at the moment the job opportunity is abundant, that might not be the case in a decade or so, and then that individual is stock with a career that he does not enjoy. On the other hand, if one follows his interests, no matter what state the job market is in, and which fields produce the most amount of money, at least he is doing what he is interested in, which will eventually lead to a happy life.

To paint a cogent picture, students should always follow their interests, whatever it might be. If one does so, the chances of success and leading a happy life are much greater than the alternative. They should not allow just the lucrative potential of a major sway them toward it since it might loose its value in the job market at any time. However, if they choose to follow their passion all will be fine and it might even lead to more meaningful life and therefor a more meaningful world that we live in.