The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is comparing two different buildings that were built by two construction companies a decade ago. Based on data for the construction cost at that time, the maintenance cost of the two buildings last year, and the energy consumption of the buildings, the vice president reaches the conclusion that for the next construction project it is advantageous to work with the Alpha agency. However, in surmising this conclusion the author relies on certain assumptions that if proven wrong can critically hinder the conclusion.

To start with, the author assumes that both buildings work under the same circumstances. Maybe the building built by Zeta is located in a damp and cold part of the country and the other is in a more tempered region. If this is the case, the initial cost of the buildings could be completely logical regarding different environments, where buildings are located. Moreover, this difference can explain the amount of money that is put into the maintenance of the building. In addition this difference in geographical environment could also explain the difference of energy consumption between the two. Under this sort of circumstances, the difference of the costs no longer aligns with the conclusion that Alpha is the better company. If the building in region of Zeta was built by alpha it may have been much more expensive than it is now.

Another assumption that could prove unwarranted is the fact that the cost of maintenance for last year is assumed as a representative for the total cost of maintenance. It is possible that the Alpha building had to go under serious maintenance only two times in the past decade, and as it happened the second time was last year. On the other hand, the Zeta building might have had to go through four major maintenance processes, but the last one that it went through was two years ago. In such a case the maintenance cost of last year is surely not a valid evidence to use as the basis for comparison of the maintenance costs of the building, which would weaken the argument further.

One more pertinent assumption that should be considered is the fact that there are no other companies that they can hire to construct the new buildings other than Alpha and Zeta. It is quite possible that in the past decade these two have not survived the market and are no longer in business. Even if they are still around, it does not mean that they are the best organizations to construct the new building. It might very well be possible that by the passage of time, other construction companies have arised that are cheaper and provide better, safer, more efficient buildings. This assumption, that the only two options are Alpha and Zeta must be investigated further.

All and all, the argument comes to a conclusion based on questionable assumptions. It might very well be the case that all the assumptions align with the conclusion but they are not mentioned in the passage. Thus, based on the outcome of the assumptions mentioned, as the arguments stands now, it is not impeachable.