The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In a memo from vice president of a large, highly diversified company it is recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for construction of new building project. For supporting a recommendation, president uses a data of last year regarding maintenance cost and power consumption on by two different building. Before, considering a recommendation of memo by president following three question need to be answered.

Firstly, Is the premises or surrounding of both the building same? In other words, is both the building is located in some industrial area or one is located in resident area and other is surrounded by chemical factory? Consider, if the one building is located in location where cost of raw material for building is low and other building is located in some remote location where raw material for building is not available easily. Further, due to remote location of one building additional transportation charges will be added to cost of that building. If this different in location case is true than comparison of cost of construction and other cost comparison will not be hold water.

Secondly, Is time difference is considered during recommendation? In other words, for recommendation reference is taken for the building which constructed 10 years ago, Is impact of this 10 year is considered on various factor of two construction company Zeta and Alpha. Consider working culture is changed over this 10 year for both the company. If Earlier working workforce for Alpha was not as stable as it is today, then Alpha can perform better than its earlier project. Also, if in last 10 year Alpha has made good relation in raw material market due to which they can provide better raw material and enhanced performance of construction. If either of case is true that it will weaken the recommendation of memo by president of company.

Last but not the least, Is data available with Mr. president is correct and sufficient? No evidence is given by author regarding the authenticity of data used for comparison of performance of two building. It may be possible that data available is not correct. Also, Data used for the comparison of performance of two building is only of last year. Considering available data is correct, it may be possible that performance of building constructed by Alpha has a better performance for nine year and only for last year building constructed by Zeta performed better. If either of possibility is true and it will weaken the recommendation of president.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it stand as flaw as it is reliance on some unstated assumption. If author is able to answer the above question provided the evidence for authenticity of available data, data for complete last 10-year, effect of changes on both the company over last 10 years and condition of location of both the building then we can confirm validity of recommendation by president.