The following is a memorandum from the business manger of a television station.

" Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contract with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum from the business manger of television station, it is concluded that to increase the number of viewer of late-night program then need to refoused on the wheather news and local news insted of the national news. To support his conclusion, manger gave a refrence for the increased number of complaints from the viewer concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. Also, support his idea which can help to again gain advertising revenues. But, mangers idea is based on the series of assumption and evidence for below three point need to be provided for reaching the best possible conclusion.

Firstly, no evidence is provided that increase in the complaints is due to coverage of national news in late-night slot only. It may be possible that, new time slot provided for local news and wheather new is doing their job properly and past slot (late-night) for local news and wheather news in very good in coverage of news. If this is possibly ture that it will easily wekan the conclsion of the manger.

Secondly, No evidence is provided that tha loss of advertising business is due to the incresed devoted time for national news or due to complaints of viewer. It is possible that local businesses were not making much profit due to which local busineese not prefer to put there money in advertising. Or it is also possible that local business found that avdertising in newspaper is more benifical for them then advertising on televison. If any of two points has a potential then it will easily weaken the mangers conclusion.

Lastly, no evidance is provided about eagarness of viewer for local news and wheather news. Possibly from last one year local wheathe is not good and due to which local life has major impact. if this will be ture then it will weaken the mangers conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument is stading has flaws due to its reliance on the some of assumption. Manger need to provided the evidence for the points asked in the above paragapgh (perhaps in the form of reaserach study). To reach prove correctness of mangers conclusion above evidence is required