Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

During the argument on a topic with the different aspect of the topic we put our point to either defend or against the topic. But as the prompt claimed that the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint with the supporting reason for claim that only in condition of being defend an idea against doubts of other make us able to see other side of topic also. In my opinion, author has strong claim and exact reason for the claim and I am totally agree with author. Claim of author can be understood with following example.

For a instance, if we are defending a topic of " Chances to win a Indian Cricket team a Cricket World Cup " .In support of your point Indian cricket team is strong candidate for world cup, you will put all the positive point of team India. But when we try to support our point with the point of view why other team has a less chance then team India then only we will come to know the exact chance of the team India.

Consider the other example in order to support the author claim with proper reason. For a instance, while a studying the new topic of any subject say physic we fist understand that topic with the assumption made for the explanation of topic. But, same topic can be understood in more detailed once a doubts and contrasting condition we take by considering that the assumption made for explanation is not true. Thus by doubt and contrasting view point put almost all the possible condition for topic or argument which help us to understand the topic or argument is better way.

However, this doubts and contrasting condition make topic clear but sometimes it make topic even worst for understanding. But this will be the case of very less chance say one in million. Thus other half is not that significant.

In conclusion, we can say that the authors claim that "best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint" is true and reason given by authors is also fully support the claim of author.