Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How can one learn as most effective as it is possible? There are different key aspects that play an important role in our learning process. Passion and interest in the subject, internal or external motivation, and discipline are some of the most important elements that can attribute to the learning process. Learning to the degree of mastery is impossible without all of the above involved and I agree with the statement in this respect.

Motivation is what encourages us to take action. The source for this spark in our feelings can come from within or without. Parents, friends, and college all have an essential role in motivating us to learn and do our best, but this type of encouragement is not the most important one. If one does not want to learn how to drive a car, no amount of motivation from outside will persuade him to do otherwise. However, if internal motivation, which most likely arises from passion and interest, is combined with external forces of encouragement, then there is practically no obstacle that can stop a person from doing what they are interested in. You see or hear about people with learning disabilities that they have had to face immense problems and how they were able to do so. When you listen to their story, usually a common factor between them is the amount of support they received from outside sources. When this was augmented by their own internal drive, they were able to overcome their battles and prove prosperous. However, encouragement can have a potent impact on a person in the learning process, somewhere along the way everyone will have to face the situation in which he does not want to continue and becomes frustrated. It is at these times that motivation, whether for it to be internal or external, is no longer enough.

The more pertinent aspect of learning is in fact discipline. What is the one key factor that determines success at the end? It is to show up and to persist. If one want to gets results in anything, he needs to have the ability to follow through, and this does not come without a certain degree of discipline. Even if someone is passionate about a subject, music for example, without discipline, without practicing a certain amount of time per day, for a long time, sometime years, he cannot learn how to master the instrument of his choice. We see this sort of example everywhere, from the most inngenious people who have ever lived on this planet such as Thomas Edison, who was told that he is not able to continue his education at the school, to world class athletes, who train day in and day out to learn more and to excel in their perspective fields. Without discipline one cannot continue the path of learning, which is inevitably without end. And it is this outlook on learning that makes my beliefes to align with what the statement is suggesting.

Learning depends on different important factors, but even among those, discipline is of greater importance. Without discipline, you won’t be able to learn what you are most passionate about while if you have discipline, you can bear the most insufferable part of the learning journey. If people start to realize this one deciding factor to learning, the rare stories of prevalence will no longer be so scarce.