The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The newspaper article provides and argument regarding the unemployment rate in Dillton. It states that despite the fact that the new policies for attracting new companies have been put into place, and the fact that two new factories have come into town, the unemployment rates have not changes. Thus, the factories must be staffed with out-of-town workers. In reaching this conclusion, however, the author relies on certain assumptions and neglects to investigate specific evidence, which can lead to the argument having alternative explanations for reaching the same conclusion.

The author assumes that the new policies put into place have been successful and they have attracted more companies compared to the past. In order to verify this assumption we need to know the rate at which companies have moved to Dillton since the economy lost its agility. Maybe this rate has not changes or has decrease ever since the policies have been carried out. If this is the case. the entire argument falls apart, on the basis that when there are no more factories compared to the past, there are no more jobs available to be filled which can explain the unaffected unemployment rates. It is possible that due to the flagging economy in Dillton, the number of new companies that start working in this town is equal to the number of companies that go out of business. More evidence regarding the active corporations in the economy of Dillton is essential in analyzing the situation of unemployment.

Another pertinent aspect that needs to be looked at is the 1000 employees at the new factory. An alternative explanation might be that these employees are not out-of-town workers but are people who have worked in other companies in the town that have been put out of business in the past year. If this is the case, the two factories only compensated for the loss of businesses in the past year and they do not have the potential to improve the overall unemployment rate. The author might counterclaim that the new factories do not need the expertise of the workers of other factories in town and they have not hired to workers who have just lost their jobs. This can also be explained with the possibility that they might have hired from the previously unemployed people that lived in Dillton, which would again, considering the number of people who have lost their jobs in the past year, explains the lack of change in the unemployment rate.

As the argument stands now, it overlooks important evidence and is based assumptions that could prove to be fallacious. Depending on which piece of the information is incorrect alternative explanations such as the two mentioned here, can be composed to reach the same conclusion as the argument has. In order to remove any doubt related to the veracity of the argument the author needs to provide the information stated above, which can bolster the argument that the factories are staffed with out-of-town workers.