Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim states that it is the responsibility of colleges and universities to encourage students to study abroad for at least a semester. This statement begs a few questions. Why should this responsibility be given to universities? Should it be a mandatory requirement for every student? How does it impact the students’ academics? After analyzing the answers to these questions one might come to the conclusion that the claim, while providing advantageous circumstances, could prove to be disadvantageous in various scenarios.

Why should the students be forced to study abroad for at least one semester? Some may state that at the time when people are in college, they are not shackled by everyday responsibilities of adult life. In this sense, it is beneficial for them to visit other countries at this time and learn about their language, culture and people. However, not every student has the luxury of acting this way. Some students are shackled by everyday responsibilities of life. Some have jobs and families that they have to support. If universities force such students to study abroad, their whole life will be pushed out of balance. In addition, living abroad, even for one semester, requires more money than the normal routine of life requires. Does every student has this money to spare? For these reasons, while the opportunity to study abroad can have immense benefits, it should not be forced on students.

Another pertinent aspect is regarding the role of college in this matter. Why is it the job of universities to do so? There are a lot of programs that offer students to study abroad for a semester or two, but there are a lot of educational institutions that do not provide this option. The main concern of educational institutions is to deliver on the educational promise they have made to their students. Is it necessary to study abroad to accomplish this promise? However, in some cases it might be beneficial, it is not necessary. Moreover, to organize such programs they need to be funded, and some might argue that this money could be put to better use in other, more emergent areas in the college or university.

One more aspect that must be considered is how does studying abroad help the students in their educational endeavor? The author of the claim might state that it will help students to go to other institutions and familiarize themselves with other technology and methods that is not used in ones own college. Yes that might be true, but imagine the case where in a certain program there are no other programs abroad that can provide a better education in the field. In this case should a student spend one semester abroad to study in not optimal environment to study? The answer can be different from person to person, but it is not impossible to imagine that some students might choose not to do so. In this regard I think the claim might be counterintuitive.

Studying abroad is always a precious experience to have, and one many will accept with open arms, however, it should not be forced on students. Some might not be in a situation in their lives where they can do so, and some might not find it as advantageous as others. Finally it is not the job of the educational institutions to enforce or even encourage students to study abroad. This is something that should be actively advertised in our societies, so the younger generation, who will build the future of the country, will be encouraged to do so.