The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author has made a lot of assumptions in an effort to finding ways to bring new jobs and stimulate flagging economy of the city and the conclusion is based on these ambiguous assumptions. Firstly, the author made an assumption that reduction in city's corporate tax rate would more likely achieve the end result but he fails to address on how will the reduction support the assertion made earlier. He eventually did not explain on what proportion the assumption would aide to achieve the goal.

Secondly, the author cites that Dillton had allowed enormous relocation grants to any company that wishes to setup in Dillton. But inspite of this opportunity, only two factories have moved to Dillton which brings up many questions. Are there fewer companies due to unavailibilty of resources to construct the factory? and Is there huge discrepancy between the number of emplyees needed and the number of literates avaialble? By answering these questions and the anomalies associated with the argument, the author can narrow down more plausible conclusion.

Additionally, the later statement of the argument contradicts with the previous idea that inspite of the two factories opened in Dillton, the unemployment rate remained unchanged. The parochial view of the author made him to presume that the umenployment rates were unchanged because the factories started recruitment out-of-town. However, there are other viable reasons that might have encouraged or forced the factory employers to recruit employees from other residents.

The plausible reason behind the unchanged unemployment rate might attribute to the unknown proportion of the number of literates to the total number of population. Since the author stated that the unemployment rate is unchanged, it leads to an assumption that number of literates to the total population steadily increased that even if the factories employed Dillton residents, the unemployment rate remained unchanged.

Furthermore, the factories might required skilled employee in particular discipline in which Dillton might have lacked. For example, if the factoies need more computer professionals and the majority of the literates at Dillton are electrical engineers, this would have caused the employers of the factory to recruit people out-of-town.

Thus, there are many rivals to the conclusion of the author which can also play significant role in the unchanged employment rate, demanding the author to puruse on the other extreme factors that could considere