College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

As a whole the statement discusses on whether college students should be encouraged to pursue subjects of their interest. While the rest of the statement provides the alternative of whether they should undertake courses that leads to jobs.

In comparison to the students who aim to acquire jobs and the students who pursue their own subject interest, the likelihood of the success rate of later students seems to be high. Since they are allowed to continue to work on subjects they inspire, they are constantly motivated. For example, the Indian cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar is a prominent cricket player who has scored many centuries for his nation. In this case, it is clear that Sachin became successful only because he was egged to pursue career of his interest.

By permitting and supporting students to take on their own interested subjects, there are exposed to numerous opportunities available in the field of Research and Development and their achievements are indisputable. An another instance would be the students of Stanford University recently discovered a battery that would prevent from blasting when a certain temperature is reached.

Not only limited to the above sanguine opportunities, there are high probability for the foundation of many start-up companies. But it has the high risk of being scotched during recession period and also requires leadership and management skills to flawlessly run the companies. With these issues addressed, the result would not only be fruitful for the career of students but also helps in increasing the nation's economy.

Although, the students of present generation are highly volatile, the interest they are having towards a field currently may more likely collapse with the time. Hence, it is required for the students to be in sync with the technological advancements of their field and keep encouraged and motivated. And also, the excitement and interest of students who undertake courses based on the job opportunities of the course seems to be dwindled at higher rate than the other set of students.