Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Managing and ruling a country has never been easy and debate on how it should be done has gone hand in hand with it from the very beginning. Due to the complexity that the topic presents there are various situations that either side might be the better option. There are certain questions that are helpful in deciding which path to take. What makes the government officials suitable for making different decisions? How does people opinion play into this process? And If a compromise is necessary to what extent should it be allowed? The answer to these questions can act as a lantern to light the way.

Decision making for the affairs of a country has never been an easy thing to do. There is a myriad of aspects that should be considered since practically every choice can have ripple effects on another part of people’s lives. Officials are the elected that were chosen by the people themselves in order to decide what to do in certain situations. The questions are what is the area that a decision needs to be made? What bases are needed for a good choice? Is it experience or expertise? As an instance, during the times of war, the tension is high and the people heavily rely on their leaders to carry the people at hard times. In this situation the people are frustrated and most likely cannot make logical decisions on what to do. So it is not advantageous to include the emotional state of people into the decision making process. In addition, at times of economic crisis, most people do not have the expertise that is needed to lead a nation out of it. Here again, the beliefe of people can hinder a correct choice. Thus, it can be concluded that during hard times when people do not possess the knowledge or objectivity that is needed to prosper, it is best for government officials to take the responsibility and lead the country in what path they seem fit.

Another moment aspect is the people themselves. What are the rights that they possess? Every person has the right to be provided safety and well being by the government. However, does this mean that the people’s opinion should always be considered? How seriously can they affect and be helpful in making a choice? Regarding the job market, if a certain group of people is suffering because they do not have a job, their opinions most likely are not very constructive in solving the problem because they are not objective about it. It is possible that an official can make a better judgment on how to solve a problem. Maybe the people insist on starting a new factory in town to help the people to find jobs, but if that happens the pollution will make everything worse in the entire town. In this case, it is best not to listen to the voice of people on the matter.

On more moment perspective is regarding a compromise when one is needed. When and why should the government give in to the people? throughout history, we have seen that most successful people have been in making a difference is in social aspects. The feminist movement was the need of the people that eventually lead the officials to listen to them and change the law. In such cases, when the effect of the choice can have weight on the everyday lives of people the governments are easier to persuade. In contrast though, when it comes to international decisions most officials do not listen to the people because they do not possess the expertise or the experience needed to make such convoluted decisions.

Managing a country is one of the most difficult jobs in the entire world. When and why the official should pay attention to the people’s opinion varies with the choice and the circumstances. But if one studies the history and categorizes different situations in the same manner as stated in this text one might be able to answer when and why different path might be advantageous.