A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The education system is the backbone that determines the growth of a country. The children of a nation are its future and how they are tought plays an important role in how the nation will evolve. Therefore, it is vital to decide how we should teach the next generation of workers and thinkers and to what extent their education should be the same.

All children need to know the essential knowledge base that is necessary to live in the modern world. Math, physics, chemistery, biology, social sciences, litriture and art are all elements that every person comes across in his life and therefore it is a must for all children to learn about these different subjects. In order to achieve this goal a common curriculum is needed to garauntee this happening. In addition, because there are a lot of differences between school systems in different parts of a country with different access to source material and equipment, having a common curriculum can ease the path for every child to obtain the same education regarding these subjects. As an example let’s consider two different schools. One is located in the capital city of a country with lots of tools at its disposal and the other is located in an urban town where the money for the school is scarce and they do not have the same equipment as the first school. A common curriculum that is inforced by the government ensures that both these school have the minimum requirments for the children to receive the basic education they need and that is a big advantage of a common curriculum.

However, by a certain age the children have know grown to be teenagers and they are at that age when they have to start thinking as individuals and decide on the path they want to take in life. The ideal circumstances at this stage is that the children have already learned what they need to learn and now they get to use that knowledge and their own personal experiences to draw themselves a rough sketch of what they want to do with their lives. Here studying the same curriculum could prove disadvantageous because the children often choose different paths and passions and therefore forcing them to study the same subjects will hinder their journey to reliaze their individual potentials. For example imagine two students with differen family background. One comes from a family of engineers and the other comes from a family of musicians. There are different influences driving these children. The first one decides to become an engineer or a scholar and the other chooses to follow his passion for music. If the two have to study the same curriculum they cannot investigate their interest fully because no common education program can facilitate both these areas togheter. Therefore In my opinion a commun curriculum at this stage will prove disadvantageous to the children.

Another aspect that should be considered is the geographic differences in a country. Different places and different cultures require different education systems at some point and I think that this should happen at the highschool level. Depending on where you live there are different aspects like religion, social culture and work skills that people need to learn in order to live in those locations. Having the same curriculum again can be disadvantageous if it limits the students education and does not allow them to study the subjects they need for the part of country they live in. For example compare a two part of the country where one is known for agriculture and the other is known for mining. The students in the first location need to learn more about agriculture and nature. They need to learn how the agriculture industry works and they need to be able to look further into it. On the other hand, the students in the second location might be more interested in the mining industry. The migh want to learn about different rocks and minerals which is a different discipline than agriculture. Having a common curriculum when students decide to learn different things does not help their education.

To summarize, a common national curriculum is necessary for children to learn the basic knowledge they need in order to be able to decide what they want to do with their lives. But when they reach that point they need to have the freedom to choose what to learn and this stage comes a couple of years before colledge. Therefore I don’t fully agree with the recommendation. I think it is better to stop the common curriculum a few years before college so students can investigate their interests before they enter higher education system. If such a system would be put in place it might ensure prosperous lives for every child.