The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that the human mind is and always will be superior to machines. That is an ambiguous claim to make. In what aspect is the human mind superior? It can be in regards to creativity or computation power. On the other hand it states that machines are only tools of human mind, but it neglects the very purpose of tools, which is to help us in the aspects that we as humans lack. Due to these contradictions I cannot support this statement in its entiriety.

The human mind is the source of the machine. That is an impeachable fact, and thus some argue that the creation cannot surpass its creator, however, I disagree. In the modern world and at the speed that technology is advancing, it is quite possible for the machine to surpass the human mind if it has not already. The advent of Artificial Intelligence has a lot of innovator such as Ellon Musk on edge. It is argued that within two or three decade, the AI, as we call it, will be so suffisticated that it will change how we think, and this is not a sign of superiority of human mind to the machine. In addition, to answer the party that claims machines lack creativity and will never catch up to the human mind, the very purpose of the artificial intelligence is to duplicate this creativity and smart that our minds posses. A good example of this is the android named Sophie that has proven to be able to keep up conversations as they are thrown at her. These facts do not align with the statement.

A more familiar aspect of the machine is its capability for great speed. The amount of calculations that a computer cheap can do is much greater than what we as humans are able to perform. If the algorithems of artificial intelligence for learning can process data at such tremendous speeds, it is quite possible for the machines to learn much faster than humanly possible. This reminds me of the supercomputer that was designed for playing chess. Imagine a computer having the ability to learn the rules of a game such as chess and to be able to compete with world class chess masters and even to defeat them. This ability is not something that can be neglected in analyzing the above statement. This Immense computational power at the disposal of the machine is surely a tool that can empower them to surpass the human mind.

On another perspective, the statement suggests that because the machines are tools they simply cannot be better that the mind that has designed them. Well, first let’s look at what a tool does. A tool is an apparatus that compensates for the lack of ability of the human body or mind. In this regard one can argue that tools have already surpassed us in their intended goal. Now if this concept is applied to the machine that is a tool for the mind, it can easily be said that the machine is superior to the human mind in its perspective field. As of right now, most of these machines focus on the speed of computation but as time passes by, their focus will shift into higher thinking levels and it won’t be much longer that they are able to surpass the human mind in every aspect.

The ability of the machine and whether it can surpass the human mind is not a matter of if but of when. With the breakthroughs in both artificial intelligence frontier and in hardware that are being developed for the machines, it is not very difficult to imagine a world where the machines have made the thinking process of humanity obsolete. The question that remains is how do we manage that future?